Rail Research UK Association (RRUKA)

The Rail Research UK Association (RRUKA) is a partnership between the British rail industry and UK universities. Established in 2010, RRUKA builds on a recent resurgence in university-based railway research, and seeks to enhance already strong collaborative relationships between academia and the railway industry.

The core activities of RRUKA are funded by RSSB and Network Rail.

RRUKA is overseen by an executive committee of elected members.

The aims of RRUKA are:

  • The support and facilitation of railway research in academia.
  • The common understanding of research needs to support the rail industry and its future development.
  • The identification of research, development and application opportunities in railway science and engineering.
  • The provision of solutions to the rail industry.

View the RRUKA Capability Statement for further information on its members' expertise within rail.

Browse our members below

University of Aberdeen
Aston University
University of Bath
University of Birmingham
Brunel University
University of Cambridge
City University London
Coventry University
Cranfield University
De Montfort University
University of Derby
University of Edinburgh
University of Essex
Glasgow Caledonian University
University of Greenwich
Heriot-Watt University
University of Hertfordshire
University of Huddersfield
University of Hull
Imperial College London
University of Kent
University of Leeds
University of Liverpool
Liverpool John Moores University
Loughborough University
University of Manchester
Manchester Metropolitan University
Newcastle University
University of Nottingham
Open University
Queen Mary University of London
University of Reading
University of Salford
University of Sheffield
Sheffield Hallam University
University of Southampton
University of Strathclyde
University of Surrey
University of Sussex
Swansea University
University of the West of England
Transport Research Laboratory
University College London
University of Warwick
University of York